Good to know before travel

Capital: Budapest

Area: 93,030km2

Population: 9 855 571 (Hungary), 1 757 618 (Budapest)

Language: Hungarian (English and German widely spoken)

Time: GMT + 1 hour

Currency: Forint (Ft, HUF) (The main credit, debit and charge cards can be used to withdraw forint at banks and ATMs, and to make purchases in hotels, restaurants and shops.)

Electricity: 220 Volts – standard continental type plugs. Visitors from the UK and North America will need an adaptor, available at most airports.

Public holidays: 15th March, 1st May, 20th August, 23rd October (national); New Year's Day, Easter Sunday and Monday, Whitsunday or Whit Monday, All Saints' Day, Christmas Day and Boxing Day (religious)

Location: Central Europe, in the Carpathian Basin. Greatest distance from North to South is 268 km; greatest distance from East to West is 526 km.

Main tourism regions: Budapest and surroundings, Eger-Tokaj wine region; The Great Plain (Puszta) and Lake Tisza; Lake Balaton; Pannonia

Climate: Continental – hot in summer, cold in winter. The temperature is highest in July/August and lowest in winter, when it often falls below freezing. About ten hours of sunshine can be expected daily between April and September.


Citizens of EU- and EEA-Member States may travel to Hungary without a visa. Family members of citizens of EEA Member States may also travel to Hungary without a visa if they received a residence card issued for family members of EEA citizens or a residence permit issued by any Schengen Member State.

With Personal ID Card

Citizens of the following countries may enter the territory of Hungary with a personal identification card for a stay of maximum 90 days, provided the purpose of their visit is not to take up work or to conduct business-related activities:

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

With Passport

Citizens of the following countries may also travel to Hungary without a visa:

Albania (biometric passport), Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Columbia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (applies only to holders of a passport of the special administrative territory of Hong Kong), Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Korean Republic, Latvia, Macedonia (applies only to holders of a passport of the special administrative territory of Macao), Macao Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Palau, Paraguay, Salvador, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadine island, San Marino, Samoa, Seychelles, Serbia, Singapore, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela.

For detailed and updated information, please visit